Excitement and Thanks

We had a bit of excitement last night. After I had nodded off the transformer in my neighbors yard exploded and blew off the top of the pole…then the whole mess started on fire. The funny thing is what woke me up was the wires on my house twanging as the pole top got tangled in them.

Not sure what the noise was but not seeing any problems except the power being out, I went and lit an oil lamp and a candle. Right about then I thought to wonder why the street lights were on in the area. Wandering back to my room with the lights I peeked out the window and finally saw the cause of the power outage. By then the sirens could already be heard in the distance.

reason for our power outage

I’m still wondering what went on there. I’m a light sleeper even with all the noise the cats can make and the pole is only about 100 feet from my house!  How did I not realize what was going on? Oh well, I was woken up and alerted either way. After an hour or so I got bored of reading by lamplight and watching the progress of the repairs. So I threw some extra blankets on the bed and went back to sleep.  Thankfully by the time I woke up this morning the power was back on.

Speaking of thanks, I’m off to celebrate Thanksgiving with family today. My Tofurkey has been waiting patiently in the fridge for a week already so I’m prepared! And during the next 2 days I’ll be working on an exciting new addition to my little urban homestead. I can’t wait to share it with you 🙂

One Comment Add yours

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, and I’m glad last night’s fire was contained to one power pole. Yikes! Can’t WAIT to read your posting about the new addition to your homestead. Enjoy your tofurkey and have a happy day.

Leave a Reply

