New Additions

I worked hard all day yesterday building this horrible hutch. I tried making it first the right way with separate panels for each side and making sure all the wiring was on the inside to protect the wood. Although I had it all planned neatly in my head it didn’t come out that way once I had a saw in my hand. So I ripped it apart and ended up with this for now. I still have materials to build the second one, but I seriously need a rest after that!

Edited To Add: I was actually able to flip the doors and move the mesh on the ends to fix it…yay!

2058

All that work was for a couple of new additions to my little urban homestead. These are White Cloud and Retreat from Paige’s Darn Kuties. German and French Angoras respectively. Now I’ll have new adventures to share as these big fluffies supply my city farm with fiber to spin and lots of fertilizer.

my new angora rabbits :)

7 Comments Add yours

  1. dilli says:

    you did a great job vigi and those are some cute bunnies.You will love those little hoppin fertilizer machines

  2. They are so adorable. I lool forward to reading more about them.

  3. Kari says:

    Congrats on the bunnies! I thinkt he hutch looks lovely, but I’m no carpenter, either. 🙂

  4. bonnie32002 says:

    Ummm, I don’t see a pan to catch the pooh. I sure hope that it was added after the photo!

    1. viggie says:

      LOL I had newspaper down for half a day until I could get to Farm & Fleet for drop pans. They are on the floor now so I still need to attach some blocks to the legs to hold it up higher.

  5. Olivia says:

    They’re beauties!

    FYI: Rabbits don’t have hard pads on their feet (like dogs and cats do), so the bare-wire floor may be a problem for them. You might want to add a solid-surface area (e.g., rug, wood) for their comfort & to ensure continued foot health.

    1. viggie says:

      Angoras are supposed to be kept in wire cages. It’s one of the things the breeder verified with me before she considered me a good home.

Leave a Reply

