Frugal Friday – Buying in Bulk

I’ve been working hard trying to get closer to the point where I can live off my garden and a few items bought in bulk.  I was lucky to find that my co-op would order an extra bag for me of anything they normally sell in their bulk bins.  I’ve started taking advantage of this and my last order was this bag of quinoa.

quinoa

Although I’m growing a test patch of quinoa this year, I certainly don’t have room to grow enough grain for myself on my little urban lot.  This one also happened to be a huge savings.  I got this in bulk for about half the cost of the boxed quinoa in grocery stores.

As soon as I got it I made another batch of my mom’s Quinoa Stuffed Peppers too!   This picture is from one of the last times my mom made it for a holiday dinner.  I made my own without the out of season peppers and the filling was yummy as a casserole on it’s own.

quinoa stuffed peppers

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh my gosh, those look sooooo good. I love quinoa and am going to have to add this to my “must make” list. I was also interested about the co-op you mentioned; what kind of co-op is it? I’d love to hear more about how you found it and how it operates.

    1. viggie says:

      My local grocery co-op (http://www.outpostnaturalfoods.coop/) is on the health food store end of the spectrum. I really love it. It has a whole aisle of bulk products. And another section for bulk teas and spices and sprouting seeds. The rest seems a little overpriced to me because there are a lot of speciality foods, but it’s also fun to shop at because there are lots of new vegetarian options for me to try.

      I didn’t know they sold bulk bags until someone mentioned it at a meetup. I stopped by later and sure enough, if I let them know in advance they’ll order an entire extra bag for me. How much I get depends on how big the bags are. The wheat were big ones at 50 pounds each.

Leave a Reply

