Three Sisters Stew

I mentioned quickly that the third batch I had canned last week was pinto beans. One of the jars didn’t seal correctly, so I had the opportunity to try out the magical fruits of my labor.  After much searching around I settled on this recipe for Three Sisters Stew.  It sounded like a great combination and with just a little garlic salt and pepper it tasted wonderful.  It’s very hearty and just a cup at a time was enough to satisfy me.

three sisters stew

1 TBSP oil
1/2 cup uncooked rice
1 onion, diced
28 ounces broth
1 zucchini, diced
2 cups corn
15 ounce can pinto beans, rinsed and drained
1/2 tsp basil
1/4 tsp oregano
salt and pepper to taste

Saute rice onion and garlic in oil until onion is tender. Add remaining ingredients and bring to a boil.
Reduce heat and simmer for 15-20 minutes until rice is tender and broth is thickened.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kari says:

    Do you make your own veggie broth or is there a commercial version you’d recommend? The stew looks yummy!

    1. viggie says:

      I make my own 🙂

  2. michelle says:

    oh, that looks good, as all of your food does! I always like new bean recipes as I don’t have that many. this is an especially good one with the three sisters together! thanks lyn!

Leave a Reply

