Canning Potatoes

on

I was busy practicing my new canning skills again this week. This time I did 10 pounds of red potatoes, which filled 7 quarts with enough left over for mashed potatoes at dinner. I took the advice I read from a couple of my forum friends that made prepping easier. The blanching step was skipped entirely. I peeled mine, but you don’t have to. Then I diced one at a time and threw the cubes directly into a bowl of water to keep them from discoloring.

I boiled the jars to sterilize them then quickly loaded the hot jars with the potatoes and covered with boiling water. I used 1/2 tsp canning salt per jar and processed according to the pressure canners instructions for 40 minutes at 11 pounds of pressure.  Don’t they look wonderful 🙂

I did have one mishap.  When I was unloading the jars the bottom fell out of one of them and dumped potatoes all over the canner.  That would be why only the 6 surviving quarts are shown in the picture.  I guess I had to break a jar sooner or later.

canning potaotes

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve been wanting to give this a try. I never realized how expensive all the equipment can be. They look great, did you use a pressure cooker?

    1. viggie says:

      I did and they are expensive, but will last forever and save you money in the long run as you produce your own food rather than buy someone elses. It can also be used as a pressure canner, pressure cooker, water bath canner, or just as a big old stock pot.

  2. Teresa Ann says:

    wondering… could you do this with whole new potatoes? It may sound like a stupid question, but i’m new to pressure canning.

Leave a Reply

