Rain Barel

on

My dad stopped by this week. He’s not a sit and visit sort, so he asked if there was a project we could work on. I had to admit I picked up a rain barrel last fall from the city and never hooked the darn thing up. So we measured and schemed and found a place for it on the unused sidewalk that leads to my kitchen door.

We ended up making a base with $0.99 pavers and a single patio block for a top. It was sturdy enough as is, but we decided to silicone the pavers together just to be extra sure, because we’re cautious like that (now you know where I get it from). The only other thing we needed was to saw off the gutter and buy 2 L bends to feed into the barrel.

I don’t know why I put off such a quick and cheap project so long.  It rained on Wednesday, so it’s already filled to overflowing.

rain barrel

4 Comments Add yours

  1. That’s fantastic. Making a rain barrel has been on my to do list for quite some time.

  2. Nikki says:

    Oh, so jealous – I’ve been wanting to do this ever since we moved into our house. Nice!

  3. Tinsie says:

    Looks like a brilliant idea! I don’t really need one in England, but I’m sure it’d come handy in most places.

  4. Darcey says:

    Hey Viggie,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I love the layout of yours and I’m happy to see your rainbarrel set-up! With the rain we’ve had this year, I haven’t had to water my garden from the hose until now with thanks to our wonderful barrels!! I’m glad we put two side by side to grab as much as possible!

    Also thanks for linking to my site under WI Urban Homesteaders! I’m happy to be meeting more like-minded folks in our beautiful state 🙂 I should probably do something similar on my site!

Leave a Reply

