Usability

on

The one thing that bothered me about my house was the size of the eat in kitchen area. I have been using an old hand-me-down table I got from a Church friend when I moved into my first apartment. It was (ugly but) serviceable, but just did not fit in the space I had. I went several years with one chair being unusable against a wall, and having to move the usable chair whenever I wanted to get into the kitchen cabinets or make use of the extra counter space.

old kitchen table

Now that I’m working in my kitchen all the time and making it a point to sit at the table and eat, this was getting to be a sore spot for me. I spent some time looking around locally and keeping an eye on craigslist for deals, but didn’t find what I was looking for until I searched online. I came up with this adorable (and inexpensive) 30 inch cafe table. I hate the thought of buying new things just to “upgrade” to something nicer, but this has really made my kitchen more usable.  Two people can eat at the same time now and I have easy access to the counters and kitchen storage space.

new kitchen set

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Vellcrow says:

    that really worked well. Less is more, right before your eyes.
    I love your pictures. My talent in that department is kind of like non existent.

  2. angela says:

    Great job, looks great!
    At lest you didnt just go out and buy something you gave it alot of though, and you helped the economy.

Leave a Reply

