Around the Urban Homestead

And sew it begins.

It took me all week to find the time and courage to practice on the newly fixed treadle sewing machine.  I was nervous because I’ve tried sewing before but never mastered sewing in a straight line and quickly gave up.  So imagine my surprise when I sat down last night with an old fat quarter scrap to practice, and every single one of my practice seams went into the fabric exactly where I meant them to go.  With the treadle it is so much easier because I can control the speed precisely.

I feel ready to try a simple pattern now. So when I heard sewingpatterns.com was having a $2.99 Simplicity sale, I picked out some patterns for skirts and blouses. I was nearly done with a no-spend month, but Wednesday is my birthday so I’m still giving myself my normal birthday allowance. I have a feeling my family will be getting me a Joann’s gift card for fabric as well (that’d be because they asked me what I wanted 😉 )

learning to sew

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Miss Wisabus says:

    Great job!

    Sewing by hand has always been more of my thing, though it definitely isn’t “my thing” in the grand scheme of things, but I’m interested in learning more about quilting. This year I finally asked for a sewing machine and I think that may be what Christmas brings. We’ll see. Either way, I’m hoping to learn from my mom, a talented seamstress. She’s great with the machine but handwork frightens her. Maybe I’ll be able to make it my thing.

    1. viggie says:

      So lucky to have someone to help you! I don’t know anyone that sews. Best of luck to you!

  2. kari says:

    Make sure you sign up for the JoAnn’s mailing list! At least twice a month I get a 40% off coupon in their mailer. I think you can sign up online or in the store.

    1. viggie says:

      Oh thanks for the reminder. I was on it for a while back when I was big into crochet. I just signed up again 🙂 I stopped to nose around Hancock Fabrics this weekend too and they seem to have better prices, so I signed up for theirs too.

  3. Melinda says:

    congrats for starting out!!!

Leave a Reply

