Stocking up on craigslist

I posted a want ad on craigslist this week offering 25 cents a jar for mason jars.  I got the usual I have a new case for $10 type responses, but one guy emailed me and said he’s cleaning out his grandmother’s basement and they have a lot to get rid of…25 cents is fine with her.  I talked to him on the phone to schedule a pickup, but mostly to make sure he didn’t sound like a serial killer before I headed over to a strangers house.

old ball zinc canning lids

He and grandma met me at the door and we set to work finding all of the jars we could in the basement.  I paidfor the ones we counted and we got to work hauling them upstairs and to my car.  But grandma stayed in the basement and pulled up tons more goodies for me so about 1/3 of what I brought home was free.  Including some zinc canning lids because she liked how tickled I was by the fact she still had a box, 3 perty wood fruit crates, my first blue jar…a big half gallon one, and and entire case of lids with bands.  My total haul:

craigslist find!

3 cases of jelly jars
10 cases of regular pints
5 cases of wide mouth pints
2 cases of regular quarts
12 boxes of lids with bands
11 boxes of lids
1 box full of baby food jars to use for seed and spice storage

My total for all this was $55, which may not seem like a steal until you realize you can only get 5 cases new for that price!

ball bicentennial jar

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Anita says:

    What a really great deal you got. I’m curious, where will you store all the jars when you have food in them? Do you have a special place in your house? Photos of it to share?

    1. viggie says:

      I have a spare room with 2 closets. I added shelving to both to convert them into pantries. 🙂

  2. rebecca says:

    One of the corners in our basement looks just like that lot you scored. I LOVE jars – the older – the better.

  3. Anna Fee says:

    Thats an awesome deal. It never occurred to me to place an ad on Craigs list saying I WANT TO BUY canning jars. I always just look at whats for sale. Excellent idea. Just out of curiosity have you tried any of the reusable canning lids that are BPA free that Lehmans sells yet? I know you’ve seen them cause we have commented on them before, but wondered if you’d actually tried them out yet?

    1. viggie says:

      I picked up a total of 16 boxes of them with spare gaskets lol. I am still trying to find time to do some canning to try them out. I’m hoping to try with some potatoes this weekend. But I’ve heard tons and tons of good things about them and Jacki Clay has given them the thumbs up. She had a whole article about them in Backwoods Home last year.

  4. Anisa says:

    Great score and what a cool jar in that last pic! I think I’m going to copy you and post an ad on CL too!

  5. kari says:

    Hurrah!

    I’m so glad you’re finally able to get a bunch. 🙂

    The zinc lids look so cool, too.

  6. Mary in AZ says:

    What a great deal! I stumbled onto your blog today and I already added you to my reader. Thanks for the great pictures. I love your garden already.

Leave a Reply

