Aloe

Aloe is one of the few plants I had in the house before I started my houseplant initiative. It’s a medicinal plant with antibacterial and antifungal properties that make it useful for skin and digestive issues.  Although currently the only proven use is to aid in healing first and second degree burns. It’s an easy to care for plant that suffers from few problems besides over watering.

aloe

Mine lives in a nice bright location in the kitchen that gets maybe an hour of direct sun a day.  I gave it this lovely new basket when I did my houseplant shopping, since they were all on sale 🙂

paid graphic from http://luvkins.webs.com - hands off!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I really enjoy your blog…your ideas and info are great! I have a green living blog where I am celebrating Earth Day. I would like to invite you to participate in my Earth Day Reading Project at The Sage Butterfly blog. I have linked to your blog as one of my picks. This is a great way to celebrate Earth Day and promote your blog. I hope you can participate, and I look forward to reading your post. Here’s the link to the project for more info:
    http://thesagebutterfly.blogspot.com/2011/04/earth-day-reading-project-blog-meme.html
    Have a great day!
    Michelle

  2. Bellen says:

    Your aloe looks lovely. If you can, try putting it outside until frost. It just might bloom for you.

Leave a Reply

