Around the Urban Homestead

It’s been a bit quiet here because this is my busiest week of the year. I rushed to get all of the garden beds dug, raked, and staked for planting. I also spent a whole day hauling wood chips converting my front yard into a decorative bed.

I'm now front lawn free!

And Mother’s Day Weekend is when I’ve been planting, so that’s done now too! One of my friends homeschools, so we even made planting day an educational field trip for her.

Planting Day!

She got to hear my lectures about plants, get dirty planting seeds and starts, water from the rain barrel, and learn how the angoras contribute to my little homestead.

Planting day!

I’ve still got some work to do as the decorative edibles for front yard, herbs, and potatoes still need to go in, but it feels good to have all the veggie gardens done.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. bonnie32002 says:

    Looks like a fun day. Glad you had great weather for your class time!

  2. Toni says:

    How fun to take part of a youngster’s education – I love homeschooling when they were young!

    Your flower bed looks great, wonder what you are going to put in it?

Leave a Reply

