Potato Chive Soup

I’m trying to get used to using my home canned food. I don’t use canned goods unless a recipe calls for it, so thinking of my jars will take some getting used to. But I came up with this recipe working off a Potato Leak Soup one I found, and using home preserved items and my egyptian walking onions.

Potato Chive Soup

1 quart canned potatoes
2 cups broth (this was home canned too!)
1/3 cup powdered milk
1/3 cup sour cream
1/4 cup chives (I used my walking onions)
salt and pepper

Bring potatoes and broth to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes. Use hand blender or potato masher to mash part of the potatoes. Add chives and powdered milk and return to a simmer. Remove from heat and stir in sour cream. Salt and pepper to taste.

Leave a Reply

