I’m only on my 3rd zucchini of the season and already at a blank for what I should do with them…how sad is that! Zucchini are interesting things. You spend most of the year wishing you could have some fresh ones, and a couple months dreading going to the garden and finding yet another one 🙂

I tried one of my friends recipes for Zucchini Nut Muffins today and they turned out great though. I just made mine sans nuts because I’ve never been a big fan of nuts in my food. This would be a great recipe to make again so I have breakfasts ready for the week.

Using 1/4 cup of batter per cup would make about 9 muffins. I’ll be dividing them up into 6 muffins in the future because you can see in my cast iron muffin topper pan they came out pretty flat and un-muffin like because of the large cups. But even at 6 they are 331 calories each, not bad for a grab-and-go breakfast option.

zucchini muffins

Blend together:
1 1/2 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/3 cup chopped pecans

Stir in to make batter:
In 1 cup measuring cup pour 1/3 cup oil, add 1 egg, and fill the remainder of one cup with milk.
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup shredded zucchini

Bake @ 300F for 1 hour.
Makes 9-10 muffins

