First corn

I harvested the first ear of corn today. It looks like it was still a little young, but it was super tender and sweet. I wish I could remember which variety it was. I know I planted it at the beginning of June when half of my golden bantam was mowed down by wildlife, but apparently I didn’t record what it was anywhere.

first ear of corn of the year

Here’s a view of part the 3 sisters plot. The corn and sunflowers now dwarf the grape arbor and rise just above the gutters now.

3 sisters garden, grape arbor, and sqash in the foreground

In the main bed, my first ever eggplant looks like it’s getting close to harvest time.

eggplant

And the cabbage have apparently tired of waiting for fall, because 3 of them are starting to head.

cabbage

And finally, here’s a view of the temporary home for the weather station. The instructions said to keep it somewhere accessible for at least a week in case you need to fiddle with it, so for now it’s strapped to the grape arbor.

weather station

Photobucket

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Looks yummy! I’m impressed!!!! Nancy

  2. Toni says:

    Lynn, what great photos! How exciting on your corn! I love seeing your progress in the garden and the weather station too, how cool! You continue to be an inspiration to me…I’ll catch up one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

