Such Great Heights

In the garden this year, everything is towering. As the season progressed I remember things getting lusher and filling in last year. But this year the only description is towering. Perhaps it’s because the 3 sisters garden is right beside the sidewalk. I’m brushing against corn as I head to work in the morning. And the corn is WAAAAAY up above me.

Although it’s the same type of sunflowers I planted last year, this year they are reaching for the sky. I took a picture of the ones against the garage for some perspective.

2016

These skyscraper plants are also in the 3 sisters garden, mocking all 5 foot 3 inches of me as I scurry below them. The grapes have vined everywhere. I’m actually rather glad one of them isn’t growing well because one is going a perfectly good job of taking over the trellis and is already restricting the walking space and shading me as I walk far below them.

2016

Quinoa is another that got much larger than I would have expected. They are a good foot taller than me and very bushy. They’ve grown up through the the umbrella clothes line and are using it as their own personal trellis. Between them and the tomatoes, I can only dry clothes on the other half of it now.

2015

Photobucket

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Bobbi says:

    Gorgeous blog! Thank you for stopping by mine and saying hi! I found you that way. 🙂 Will definitely be back to check things out!

  2. Maria says:

    What a wonderful thriving garden you have! Some of those plants are just soooo tall! I’d get lost in your garden… I’m only 5ft 1 and a bit!lol

Leave a Reply

