Creamy Burrito Casserole

Creamy Burrito Casserole

1 cup TVP (or 1 lb ground beef or turkey for my meat eating friends)
1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 package taco seasoning
6 large flour tortillas
1 (16 ounce) can refried beans
2 -3 cups shredded taco cheese or cheddar cheese
1 (10 3/4 ounce) can cream of mushroom soup
4 ounces sour cream
hot sauce or salsa

Rehydrate TVP (or brown and drain meat). ย  Add onions, taco seasoning, and stir in refried beans. Mix soup and sour cream in a separate bowl. Spread 1/2 of sour cream mixture in bottom of casserole dish. Tear up 2 tortillas and lay on top. Spread half bean mixture, half of cheese, and lightly add salsa. Tear up 2 tortillas and lay on top. Spread rest of beans, salsa, and cheese. Bake at 350ยฐF for 20-30 minutes.

Photobucket

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Henri says:

    Hmmm that looks and sounds delicious! This one is on my to-do list cause I LOVE Burrito’s ;o) Tks for sharing!

  2. Mary says:

    I made this tonight and used cream of chicken because we were out of cream of mushroom. Absolutely delicious! Thanks for the recipe. Love you website.

    1. viggie says:

      Oh yay! I’m glad you liked it ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Lexi says:

    I am making this tonight, along with homemade tortillas, just because they are so cheap to make ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Mary Watson says:

    I tried this recipe again this afternoon with tvp. I had the tvp in the pantry for awhile and had never used it. I actually could not tell the difference. It was very good. I didn’t tell my husband the casserole had tvp in it till after dinner. ๐Ÿ˜‰ He was surprised and said it was delicious ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

