On My Mind

Rhonda at Down To Earth is hosting a Friday “On My Mind” picture post. It’s like a Wordless Wednesday but with a description explaining what the picture means to you.

IMG_6102

These are my tomatoes being tucked in for the first frost last night. Most of my tomatoes are still green and on the plant, so they seem as surprised by the change in weather as I am. Our average first frost isn’t until October 18th, but a chill this early isn’t unheard of. I’ve started bringing in more of my dryed stuff. The quinoa has come in and it looks like it’ll be quite the ordeal processing it. Beans, corn, and sunflowers will soon follow. I’ll wait for the final numbers, but things didn’t seem to be as productive this year. And now that the garden is established pests have moved in and I got to start learning how to deal with them. It was certainly a more challenging season for me.

Photobucket

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi! Another question! On our Proverbs 31 cross stitch are those little teeny glasses on the people just back stitch and then french dot for the eye? Also the blue with arrows dividing the pictures we don’t do, do we? Whew! Didn’t realize how much work this would be! lol Nancy

    1. viggie says:

      For the eyes, yes it’s a french knot. They aren’t wearing glasses though. If you look closely there is a 6 in some of the boxes indicating another color for their cheeks.

      You should do the blue arrows in backstitch, it frames each section of the sampler 🙂

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Oh, my goodness! I even had the magnifying glass out trying to figure it out! Think it is too tiny for my eyes but will perservere! Thank you. Is it on there to frame each section in the blue backstitch? I looked but had not seen it. I think I bit off more than I can chew but will keep chewing! Thanks again. lol Nancy

  3. angela says:

    If you plant garlic and oinions throughout your garden it helps keep the pests at bay. Also planting marigolds with tomatoes does the same.

  4. Carrie says:

    Hi, I live down the street from you in Milwaukee. I had to go to “Australia” to find you and this blog! I was on the Simple, Green Frugal Co-op Blog and discovered a comment that you made about soap making. So here I am. I LOVE this blog! You have a fabulous sense of design. I put you on my blog roll. Best, Carrie

Leave a Reply

