On My Mind

Rhonda at Down To Earth is hosting a Friday “On My Mind” picture post. It’s like a Wordless Wednesday but with a description explaining what the picture means to you.

3 sisters garden in fall

It’s the first day of fall!  The corn is dry and the sunflowers are fading. The contrast between summer crops dying and fall crops coming into their own is quite striking. Beans, picked off dead dry vines, came in yesterday…while the broccoli springs to life and quickly approaches harvest. There’s still a lot of work I need to do and I find myself having trouble getting out and doing it. Hauling out the chipper and starting on the corn stalks seems like an admission that winter is on it’s way.

Photobucket

2 Comments Add yours

  1. brenda says:

    I love the way you can stall on a chore because “it’s an admission that winter is on it’s way.” I am so using that one. Thanks. That just made my day.

    brenda from arkansas

  2. angela says:

    winter isnt too bad, its a time to go within and rest. its also a time of cosy fires, warm blankies and lots of hot chocolate. Ill be thinking of you when our temps are really hot! I prefer winter to a hot summer anytime.

Leave a Reply

