Bean Loaf

I made a fun discovery when I was antiquing last weekend…an old cookbook with lots of local history: The Settlement Cookbook. Mine is a later edition than this digital copy I found so it has a lot more recipes in it. Including the one I tried tonight. My version is changed slightly to add more measurements and specify a temperature.

bean loaf

1 can beans, drained
1 egg, well beaten
2 Tablespoons ketchup
1 cup bread crumbs
1 Tablespoon onion, diced
1/2 teaspoon each salt, pepper, ( & seasoning of choice)

Mix all ingredients and shape into loaf. Bake at 350 for 25 minutes.

I used black beans and made several mini loafs to try variations. Plain was best served with ketchup as a dip. Adding italian seasoning worked well but it still didn’t stand alone. It would make for good “meat” balls for spaghetti night. My favorite was taco seasoning, which was tasty enough to eat by itself.

One Comment Add yours

  1. John Amrhein says:

    Thanks for the link to my Alma Mater’s historical cookbook collection – I had no idea that existed! I will definitely be doing some browsing there in the near future.

Leave a Reply

