Shiitake Mushroom Log

I’ve decided to try a Shiitake Mushroom Log for this winters growing project. I had an amazon gift card to use, so I ordered one from there.

mushroom log

It came pretty quickly and with good instructions. I just needed to submerge it in icey cold water over night. It has to be non-chlorinated water, so I used water from my rain barrel because city water wouldn’t cut it. I just let it outside…this time of year it’s plenty cold.

mushroom log

Now…we wait.  It sounds like the only challenge will be keeping it moist in the winter with the furnace heating all of the humidity out of the air.

Leave a Reply

