What I’ve learned about growing Saffron

Well I’m still just getting started with saffron, but I wanted to share what I’ve learned.

IT IS SOOOOOOO EASY!

saffron crocus bulbs

Saffron Crocus is specifically Crocus Sativus. They grow in zones 5-9.  Since I’m in zone 5, I made sure my bulbs were good and hardy by finding a local grower. Corms (bulbs) are planted in fall and bloom yearly thereafter in late fall. They require minimal attention and are disease and pest resistant.  They spread over time but only need to be divided every 4+ years.

saffron crocus

Mine were so eager to flower they came up the same year. Once they fully open you can harvest the flowers. They are brought in whey where are easier to work with, because you’ll be pulling the 3 little red stigmas out with a tweezers and drying them. They can be air dried on a towel/paper towel or put in the dehydrator on the lowest setting.

saffron crocus

It’s a little fiddly, but that’s all the work there is to grow the most expensive spice in the world.

harvesting saffron

2 Comments Add yours

  1. katlupe says:

    How do you find a local grower who sells it? I don’t think I have ever seen it anywhere. I love saffron! In my previous life, I used to make Paella all the time and saffron is essential. I would love to grow it and am on my way to research for a local grower.

    1. viggie says:

      I was just googling around for suppliers and happened across one that was relatively close to me. Unfortunately local producers aren’t usually very easy to find.

Leave a Reply

