Bean and Barley Stew

Someone mentioned the book Country Beans recently, so of course I had to dig out my copy and try a new recipe from it. This one turned out AWESOME!

Bean and Barley Stew

1 cup kidney beans, cooked
1 1/2 cups barley, cooked
28 ounces tomato juice
1 1/2 cups water
1 cup carrots, grated
1 cup celery, sliced
1 teaspoon bullion
1 teaspoon chili powder (the book says 2-3 if you like heat)

Requires preparation! Soak and cook kidney beans (or use canned). Cook barley (can be done in your rice cooker). Combine all ingredients in a pot and heat to boiling. Cover and simmer 15 minutes.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Yummy looking! Makes my mouth water! Nancy

  2. bonnie32002 says:

    I love barley…this has everything I like in it so I will make Dadoo make this for me!

Leave a Reply

