Frugal Friday: Homemade Laundry Soap

I’ve been watching people begin to make their own laundry soap with interest. It sounded like a good money saver, but I didn’t like the idea of a gel. That’s why I was excited to find these instructions that makes a powder 🙂 I’ve started using it with my plunger washer and think it works quite well.

homemade powdered laundry soap

This makes 4 quarts. You use 2 tablespoons per load.

6 cups borax
4 cups baking soda
4 cups washing soda
2 bars Fels Naptha (or other laundry bar), grated

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Julia says:

    how funny, I have a laundry soap post drafted too 🙂 I did want the gel, though, as we have the wrong kind of water for powder evidently– always end up with clumps of undissolved borax, and the residue irritates my kids’ skin. My recipe needs some tweaking still, but I’ll get it posted before too long…

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    I didn’t like the dry laundry soap either as use cold water in my machine and it didn’t dissolve well. I just made some from the White Silk Purse Laundry Soap recipe. It is a really thick concentrate and you use 1 tablespoon per load. I used Ivory soap instead of Fels Naptha. It is not the gel that you make with so much water. So far I like it. Mix a tablespoon with a little water in a jar and shake and pour it in. Because you do yours by hand your dry soap probably dissolves well. Nancy

  3. Mary says:

    I’ve made the gel detergent before and it worked really well. I will mix up a batch of the powdered and see how that works for me.

  4. M says:

    i have used the homemade liquid version for years. I use Zote for the soap and add a bit of baking soda. I throw all the dry ingredients on the food processor and then shred in the soap . It grinds pretty fine so I wonder if I could get away just using it dry?
    It is still pretty easy to make and I don’t care about the lumps. I shake the jug and toss it in and all comes out clean. I think the soap helps cut down on static too.

  5. Reblogged this on practicesustainability and commented:
    This is a wonderful article by Viggie’s Veggies!

  6. Sandy says:

    I haven’t been able to find washing soda any where in my area. All I have found in the laundry isle is Baking soda.

    1. Mom-of-two says:

      Do you have a publix in your area?

Leave a Reply

