Spring in Wisconsin

With temperatures nearly twice our average for this time of year, things are waking up early outside. I’ve already cleared the hardy herb and perennial beds, set out my trellises and benches, and put up fencing and decorations in the garden. This is parsley and oregano that made it through the winter, rhubarb, comfrey, and egyptian walking onions.

parsley made it through the winter oregano made it through the winter rhubarb sprouting comfrey egyptian walking onions

And for a bit of cheer, I set this up on my desk at work. It’s the only breed I can have for now 😀

My only breed option for now :D

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Hi there! I just spent (too much) time playing on your blog and felt compelled to leave you a quick comment.
    I really love it! What a wonderful place to come visit and be inspired! I am tickled to see you “bloom where you are planted”. Your little homestead looks like a calm. comfy, and welcoming place to be. Your meals look heavenly. All that you have canned makes me want to pullout my canning pot and roll up my sleeves. Your produce makes me drool. Great work! I have pinned many of your recipes on Pinterest. I will be back to visit again!
    Jennifer in Tucson

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Lynn, I think what I have is Egyptian onions. Should I pull and eat and leave one or two for seed or what? Thanks. Nancy

    1. viggie says:

      Here are some more pictures of mine for comparison: http://www.flickr.com/search/?w=10535412@N00&q=walking%20onions

      I just eat the greens as green onions/scallions. They will bulb on both the top and bottom, but the bulbs are so small that I have not harvested them. I leave the bottom bulbs in for the winter. The top bulbs that form will fall over and plant themselves.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Thanks. Looked at the pictures. HMMM. Mine look like yours except I don’t get lavender white flowers on mine but get a bulb at the top the end of the season with lots of seeds in it. I have pulled them out of the ground like green onions and ate but then unless they reseed in the fall I won’t have them next spring. If I cut the green top off to dry and don’t pull the bottom will the green top grow back? I like the idea of cutting the tops like that and drying. Then what do you use the green onion for? Sorry. I am just full of questions trying to learn bout them Nancy

    1. viggie says:

      If they don’t bulb at the time then I think they are probably chives.

  4. Nancy Davis says:

    No they aren’t chives. I have chives. They have the white on the bottom like the green onions you buy only when I let them grow they get thicker and the green tops are taller than chives. I guess they just must be onions of some kind. Thanks for all your input! I cut off the bottom stalk of some organic celery I bought today about and inch of it and planted in a pot about half way. It is suppose to grow by what I read! lol Nancy

Leave a Reply

