Homesteading Goodies and House Hunting

I got a fancy new addition to my homestead this week 🙂 I found new Aladdin lamps that were actually on sale so I had to order one. I got it set up and used it last night and was really happy with how bright it was…it really was enough to light up my living room.

IMG_7360

I’m still busy looking at properties. The one I walked through yesterday had this in it’s back yard 🙂 I am really liking the area, but that house in particular was in poor shape. Since I’ll pretty well be putting all my resources into some land, I can’t afford to do major work on a house.

little surprise in the backyard of a house I walked through yesterday

I’ve been working on a list of farms and homesteads in WI that are on facebook to help people connect and source their food. And I recognized a farmstand from it so I stopped for honey and eggs on the way back home.

IMG_7367

Outside, potatoes went in the ground yesterday. I’m doing Purple Majesty and Mountain Rose, which are really lovely.
purple majesty potatoes were planted today

The purple especially had brilliant colored sprouts.

this years potatoes are chitting

And finally…I got 40 asparagus crowns in the ground this morning before the rain started.

IMG_7371

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Vinnie’s Veggies, I like your Aladdin Lamp. I have my parents old lamp and have never used it. I need to get a new wick and oil and learn how to use it! How exciting for you to be looking for land of your own! Good luck. Nancy at Cozy Thyme Cottage

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Oops! Sorry. That is suppose to be Viggies Veggies. A mouthful for me! lol Nancy at Cozy Thyme Cottage

  3. Julia Swancy says:

    you go girl! you got a lot done ahead of the rain! 🙂

Leave a Reply

