Progress

It is such an exciting time of year πŸ™‚ But so busy that I keep forgetting to update about it! I pretty much live on facebook though. If you don’t already have me there, feel free to friend or subscribe to me…whichever you are comfortable with. All of my gardening updates are public so anyone can see them πŸ™‚

It’s still very hot out, so I’ve retreated indoors to do some canning and cooking. You can click on the pictures to get the recipe πŸ™‚

Kasha Tomato Soup
kasha tomato soup

Southwest Spaghetti Squash
Southwest Spaghetti Squash

Green Smoothie – Great for those days you’ve been working in the heat and just don’t have the appetite to eat
green smoothie

Homemade Vitamin Water
vitamin water

Roasted Asparagus with Panko – Great tangy taste to it, nice chance of pace at the end of the asparagus season
Roasted Asparagus with Panko

Canned Pears
home canned pears

Canned Peas from 10 pounds of shelling peas I got at a discount at the farmers market
home canned peas

Peaches πŸ™‚
home canned peaches

Rhuberry Spread – This turned out really nice and was made with rhubarb from the garden. There’s no sugar in it so I can eat it more often, and it has a nice applesauce consistancy that makes it a good jam or topping.
rhuberry spread

Outdoors my first veggies are getting very close to harvest….way ahead of schedule. The warm weather crops are loving the soaring temperatures. Although the dry spell has meant I’ve been out watering every few days to help them along. I’m in a humid continental climate, so I don’t normally have to water but a few times a year.

View of the gardens from the patio
yard 2

First color in the tomato patch is from this mutant triple-decker purple cherokee.
first reddening tomato

Parisian pickling cucumber. Most of the cukes I’m doing this year are pickling varieties with canning in mind.
parisian pickling cucumber

Lots of little bell peppers are popping up
peppers

The red onions are bolting. I’ll be dehydrating these so I’m not really concerned about it though.
red onion flowering

Eggplants πŸ™‚
eggplant flower

New potatoes
volunteer new potatoes

Seeds saved from the kale
kale seeds

Dried peas that have already been pulled up
shelling peas

Dried Chamomile – I’ve gotten 2 quarts full out of my little patch already
chamomile finished

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Julia Swancy says:

    WOW! at what you’ve canned, what you’ve harvested, those beautiful dishes, and your photographs!! just wow!! how many chamomile plants gave you that yield? this is my first year succeeding in starting any, but I only have a couple of plants as I watch and learn to see if I can keep them alive πŸ™‚

    1. viggie says:

      It looks like there’s about 15 out there. They are in a thin little bed along the side of the garage πŸ™‚

      1. Julia Swancy says:

        coolio, that’s not many at all! planning for next year already…

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi! All your cooking and canning efforts look delicious!! Is it time to can pears? Your garden is beautiful! Great harvest! Nancy

Leave a Reply

