August Progress Photo

I remembered to take this months garden progress photo 🙂 There’s not much to see since the beans and cucumbers are doing a pretty good job of blocking the view. But if you look closely you can see a new addition to the yard…

monthly progress pic - august

I put in a privacy fence! I had a partner and it took us 5 afternoons, which I thought was really fast. I’d been having some problems with a threatening neighbor that had kept me out of the yard for a while and this was my answer to dealing with that problem.

The day before I broke ground there was also a dog attack that resulted in one of my rabbits having to be put down. Poor little Poncho was only with me a few months before it happened. I caught the dog in the attack and got help chasing it away when it reacted aggressively to being interrupted. I was able to keep the dog away until animal control showed up an hour later…but it was too late. In his panic, the angora had broken his femur and I couldn’t afford the thousands the vet needed for surgery. 😦

For both these reasons, finishing the fence on Tuesday made it feel much safer for me and my remaining rabbit.  It’s been in the 90s here again, but we are expecting 70s next week.  I’m actually looking forward to getting outside again and catching up on all the weeding that’s waiting for me.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. So sorry to hear about your rabbit, your garden space looks lovely! So lush and productive.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    So sorry that you lost your rabbit but I am sure you will enjoy your privacy fence so much now. Pretty space! Nancy

  3. Liz says:

    Poor bunny. I would have called the police, not animal control. You would have been able to prosecute the owner of the dog for not having it under control.
    The garden is looking lovely, and the fence is spectacular.

    1. viggie says:

      I did work with the owner and he kindly paid the vet bill.

Leave a Reply

