Fall

Fall has arrived. The days have been cool and rainy with nights hovering above freezing. I’ve been canning lots of tomatoes lately and tried my hand at a new one for me: pizza sauce. The oregano and garlic powder also came from my garden earlier this year.

home canned pizza sauce

The squash harvest has been sporadic this year, but they are making a final push. Picked 4 zucchini, 2 crookneck and 2 patty pans this week.

squash

The cold has already taken a few of the squash vines though, which means the first of the little winter squash has come in.

acorn squash

And many of the beans are dry already. I’ll be doing the main harvest in few weeks yet, but I cracked some open to oogle the beans. The black are Cherokee Trail of Tears and the white with tan bellies are Hidatsa Shield.

beans

The fall crops are staring to do their things.

broccoli

And finally….this weekend I started cleaning up some of the beds. The melons were cleared out and I’m working hard to dry as much of the herbs as I can, including this new addition: lemon balm.

lemon balm

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    You are getting a wonderful harvest! Fun to clean up but sad to not harvest all those things! Nancy

  2. Deb says:

    Hi there! I came across your blog on another site and had to stop and say I love the blog name….My last name is vig so you can see why I appreciate it 🙂

  3. Katie says:

    I just ordered these reusable lids for canning. I can’t wait to use them!

Leave a Reply

