Livingroom refresh

This year I wanted to treat myself to a room makeover before winter set in. The living room is where I spend the majority of my time in winter, especially now that I work from home most of the time. So I set to work on fixing it up so I can better enjoy the season.

IMG_9428

I started out with a mishap. I tried to fix some loose ceiling tiles and ended up breaking them. That lead to a week and a half of hard over-head work tearing down itchy fiberglass tile, chipping away the glue, and putting up 2 layers of primer and one of ceiling paint to fix that mistake.

removing ceiling tile

I am really happy with the results though, so it wasn’t all bad.

Ceiling sans tile...finally!

I also found an old light socket hidden under there, that I was able to reclaim. It’s right over my “home office” so it’ll get lots of use.

I'm skeert of getting electromucuted so I recruited help in getting a new light installed in the extra socket I found buried under the ceiling tile.  It's in the alcove I use as my home office, so it'll be used all the time.

It took 4 coats of paint (2 primer and 2 color) to turn this dark wood paneling

Testing out a panorama.  Everything's patched and caulked, so priming will start tomorrow once its dry.

Into a room that I can enjoy spending my time in this winter.

Done!  I'm not going to paint another room with so much scallop trim anytime soon.

As you can see, my finishing touches were a bit of bold color. Red curtains and runners and an old Dollar General find.

my normal entry way plaque was moved to a more visible location to distribue the "pops" of red in the "new" room

I also painted some of my antique and scavenged pieces black. Now they “pop” and match the other furniture in the room for a more cohesive look.

An example of the second hand furniture I painted black this weekend. They turned out really nicely.

I wasn’t so sure about painting paneling, but I’m glad I took the change. I’m very happy with the results.

finished living room

One Comment Add yours

  1. craftiblog says:

    What a fantastic transformation! Not a small job to be sure. You are right, I know you will encourage your new space this winter.

Leave a Reply

