Frugal Meals

Well folks. I’ve got lots of good reasons to switch to recession cooking. Including the fact that the economy is awful, my job isn’t too secure, and I’ve been asked to teach a cooking class at the food pantry this upcoming year. So here it goes!

I’ve started a group on flickr, for those that use it. I could be convinced to start a facebook group if someone else were willing to participate. I am looking for meals under a dollar a serving, so you’d have to do some math to join in.
Cheap Eats

I’ll be providing the recipe, cost, and nutrition information with each food photo. Here are the ones I’ve tried so far 🙂

Very Simple Blueberry Muffins

Very Simple Blueberry Muffins

1 1/2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup milk (I made from powdered)
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1 cup frozen blueberries (rehydrated or fresh fruit would work too)

Mix dry ingredients and stir in wet. Fold in blueberries and pour into baking cups. Bake at 400F for 30 minutes.

Makes 12 muffins.
137 calories, 22g carbs, 2g protein, 5g fat each
$1.54 total, $0.13 per muffin

Breakfast of 2 muffins with 1 cup plain nonfat yogurt
$0.75 for meal, 395 calories, 63g carbs, 13g protein 10g fat

Penne With Cannellini Beans

Penne With Cannellini Beans

8 ounces dry penne pasta
2 cans of italian styple tomatoes or diced tomatoes
1 can cannellini beans
1 package (10 oz) spinach, chopped
1/2 cup shredded parmesan or romano cheese

Cook pasta. In a large saucepan, combine tomatoes with liquid and beans. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Add spinach and cook 2 more minutes, until spinach is wilted. Serve pasta topped with tomato mixture and sprinkle with cheese.

Makes 5 servings.
315 calories, 54g carbs, 15g protein, 4g fat
$4.58 total, $0.92 per serving

Averi's Apple Oatmeal

Averi’s Apple Oatmeal

3 cups quick oats
1/2 cup dehydrated apple bits
1/2 cup powdered milk
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon salt

Mix all ingredients and store in quart jar until ready to eat. To prepare, mix a heaping 1/2 cup mix with 1/2 cup boiling water.

Makes 8 servings.
198 calories, 40g carbs, 6g protein, 2g fat
$1.27 per batch, $0.15 per serving

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I am excited for you! I think you will do a great job! Nancy

  2. So, how do I get a recipe to you. This is something I’ve never done before.

    1. viggie says:

      You can join flickr.com. They will let you upload your images and add them to the group.

      Or you can email me at vigilant20@gmail.com. If it’s something that uses ingredients I have, I will try to make and post it.

Leave a Reply

