New Facebook Page

Now that it’s official, I can let you know that I received my layoff notification yesterday. I’ll have 4 weeks of work before I’m on the employment line with so many others. The meetings to tell me, my team, and then the company had been scheduled on Friday…so I was pretty sure it was coming and that’s why I started my recession cooking project. Hopefully I can use it as an opportunity to help others learn to deal with this economy and still eat healthy filling meals.

I’ve started a facebook page to share the rest of the recipes. It’ll be easier for me to share there and I think easier for most folks to follow.

Pasta e Fagioli

Pasta e Fagioli

1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, crushed
1 stalk celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
1 Tablespoon each basil and oregano
1 teaspoon thyme
1 dash each rosemary and red pepper flakes
1 can diced tomatoes with juice
4 cups broth
1 can cannellini beans
1 cup dry small pasta
5 Tablespoons parmesan

In a large pot, saute onion in a small amount of oil until tender. Add garlic, vegetables, and spices. Cook 3 more minutes. Add tomatoes and broth and simmer 30 minutes. Add beans and pasta and simmer about 8 more minutes until pasta is tender. Sprinkle with parmesan before serving.

Makes 5 servings.
248 calories, 45g carbs, 12g protein, 3g fat each
$4.06 total, $0.81 per serving.

Cut some additional costs on this one by using homemade broth from your saved veggie scraps or cooking your own dry beans.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Dan says:

    I’m always looking for high quality foods and ways to prepare them in small amounts of time. I’ll be paying attention. Thanks.

  2. Theresa D says:

    I am sorry to hear about the layoff – believe me, I know just what you are facing. DH received his notice at Christmas time last year and it was a grueling 6 months of looking for something all across the US before he found work. Mind you, age and his long stay at the same company didn’t help. One thing we did find out – you will find exactly what you are supposed to have 🙂 Our lives have totally changed this past year, and not anything like we had planned.

    Good luck – you are in my thoughts and prayers.

  3. I am so sorry to hear of your layoff, and while it’s traumatic, I do believe in the old adage, when a door closes, a window opens, and, of course, the other old adage, life gives us lessons for a reason. My best wishes to you.

  4. Nancy Davis says:

    That does look yummy. I will be running it off for my files. Thanks. Nancy

  5. Dorrie says:

    Sorry to hear about the layoff. Why do they always seem to happen around the holidays. Best of luck with your job search. May you quickly find the job of your dreams.

Leave a Reply

