Getting ready for 2013’s garden

….and so it begins! This will be my 3rd year of growing my yard into a little urban homestead.

I’m getting started with my planning today by inventorying and organizing my seeds. My base is leftover seeds I ordered from Baker Creek last year. But I also hit clearances and subscribed to the Seeds of the Month Club to get all these. They were meant to be given away to internet friends and people I meet doing volunteer work. But now that I’m out of work, they’ll also be planted in my own garden where needed so I won’t have to spend any money on growing food this year.

organizing seeds

I track everything by entering each variety in a spreadsheet with the planting information listed on the seed packet. Once I have my layout complete I use the planting distances entered to estimate how many I need to start for the square footage I have. The spreadsheet calculates the exact seed starting and planting out dates for me, so I can keep everything organized as spring ramps up.

seed starting

One Comment Add yours

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Can’t wait for the season to begin! Have fun! Nancy

Leave a Reply

