Early spring preserving

on

If you keep an eye out, you’ll find something inexpensive to preserve any time of year 😀 During the last couple weeks I’ve done a few projects using free or sale ingredients. The first is bone broth using free bones from the butcher.

Making broth with free bones from the butcher

It took me 3 days of simmering, but I ended up with 32 quarts to can up.

Bone broth

Strawberries have been between $0.99 and $1.25 at Aldi’s, so I ended up doing a couple projects using them. This was my first batch of jam, and it jelled up really well.

Finished 10 half pints of strawberry jam :D

They also have bags of kiwi out, 6 for $1.49….which is the best price I’ve ever seen up here. I did some just dehydrated for snacks

dehydrated kiwi

And tried a cool new recipe for a Strawberry Kiwi Lemonade Concentrate I had found on SB Canning’s page

Strawberry Kiwi Lemonade Concentrate

3 Comments Add yours

  1. marywithrow says:

    Wow – you have been working! They all look fantastic! I have never dehydrated Kiwi, they look wonderful

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Great job preserving! Did you like the kiwi-strawberry lemonade? Nancy

    1. viggie says:

      It turned out really good. I’ve even used a few tablespoons in seltzer for homemade soda 🙂

Leave a Reply

