Spring has Sprung

on

Spring has finally made it to Wisconsin.  My tulips opened last week and the world is starting to green up as the trees leaf out.

About time, tulips!

I’ve got a few of the cold weather things in the ground, and this week I’ll finish digging the beds and get the rest planted.

Some starts followed me home :D. Kohlrabi, Swiss chard, broccoli, and cauliflower all got planted today.  I also found Jerusalem Artichoke bulbs at Menards and put them in the failed shiitake mushroom patch.

This year I’ve got a lot of other goals I’m juggling as well. I’m just finishing Hunters Safety and will take the test tomorrow. We already did the field day and I had a lot of fun shooting a shotgun for the first time…even hitting 2 of the 6 practice clays they let us have.

Hunters Safety field day. Finally got to shoot a shotgun for the first time and even hit 2 of the 6 practice clays.

I hope to get out hunting, and have friends willing to take me for duck and turkey. I’ll probably be doing deer as well, although that will be a lone excursion. Fishing has also begun…here I was showing my appreciation to the first catch of the season 😀

Showing my appreciation to the first fish of the year . It was cold and windy but I was lovin it. Got a nice variety of white bass, small walleye, crappie, and a catfish that gave me a good fight

Leave a Reply

