Cultured Butter

Showing off a batch of cultured butter. I used a tablespoon of piima (but yogurt or kefir grains work too) to culture a pint of fresh cream at room temperature for 12 hours. Then shook the cream in a mason jar for 5 minutes or so until butter formed. Pour off (and save!) the buttermilk and rinse and salt the butter…and you are set!

My cultured butter :)  I shook this batch in a mason jar, but afterwards I found a Vitamix demo that whipped some up in 2 minutes...so I'll be trying that next time :D

Leave a Reply

