Homecanned Bone Broth

The big negative I hear about making bone broth is that it is very time consuming. One thing I do to make things easier for myself is to make a big batch and can it.

Salt, pepper, and 24 hours of simmering later and I have my tastiest batch yet. :)

I get free chicken bones from my butcher to make mine, and save up all my veggie scraps in the freezer. I end up adding some extrs and some spices. Before I can it, I add a bit of pink salt for flavor.

Canning bone broth

My pressure canner holds 7 quarts of broth at a time, which can be stored for a year or more. The directions for canning are very straight forward, and can be found here: http://www.freshpreserving.com/recipes/chicken-stock It’s very convenient to always have some in the pantry.

Canned bone broth

Leave a Reply

