Ice Age Trail – Stony Ridge Segment

on

I’ve been toying the idea of making it a long term goal to do every segment of the Ice Age Trail and today I decided to start. I picked the Stony Ridge Segment that isn’t too far away and was short enough for a day hike, when you double the distance considering I’ll be walking out and back.

Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail 1

It was going to be a hot day at 74 (hot is in comparison to 30s 2 days ago!) so I got an early start. This section starts in prairie and goes through forests. It’s still early spring here so the trees just leafing out had such a delicate look and bright color.

Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail 2

Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail 3

I learned that when the guidebook talks about eskers and kames, it means horrifically steep hills with loose stone to slip around on.

There and back along the Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail today for a total of 6.2 miles.

Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail 7

I’d call my very first pair of hiking boots officially broken in now. The guidebook puts a round trip at 6.2 miles…my fitbit clocked 18555 steps for 7.62 miles, plus 37 flights of stairs!

Stony Ridge segment of the Ice Age Trail 9

Leave a Reply

