Around the Homestead

I’ve been working my shift alone at the farm now that they’ve started their Saturday market. Sometimes she’s already put aside veggies for the CSA and gives me a couple jobs to-do and othertimes like yesterday, I spend my shift harvesting and prepping boxes. I started at 6 to be done before the worst of the heat. I’m in the habit of coming early to walk the fields and see all of the changes…snapping shots of this walking spider and honey bees as I went.

Things have really started to pick up in my own garden. The first celebratory BLT has been had, and a chunky spaghetti sauce made with the first eggplant and bell pepper included. Cucumbers and squash are going crazy. And the first of the peaches have started to fall.

Preserving has started with the freezing of 7 one pound bags of green beans.

Leave a Reply

