Around the Homestead

I spent this weeks workershare shift at the farm tending the the broccoli and cauliflower, and weeding like a maniac.

At home, I put in my saffron crocus early this week. I’ve tried growing saffron before, but didn’t realize they needed to be stored for winter in my climate and ended up killing them after the first harvest. Hopefully it goes better this time.

I brought in the last of the cantaloupe. It’s bed, the corn, beans, and lettuce are already bare. They are predicting a rough winter and it does seem like things are wrapping up earlier than usual.

I was able to get in a hike this weekend, returning to the lovely Monches Segment of the Ice Age Trail. I have to admit I was bad and pre-ordered the newest fitbit now that they finally have a waterproof version. I’ve been doing pretty well on my diet so it’s time to focus on exercise! Maybe it’ll finally make a difference šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

